01 Feb 2012 - Tír Chonaill AC Celebrates an Outstanding 2011

The function room in Donegal Towns Central Hotel was packed on Sunday Evening when Tír Chonaill AC celebrated the numerous 2011 club achievements. Prior to making presentations, club Chairman Paul O'Gara, highlighted a number of achievements and thanked various individuals and groups that worked tirelessly throughout the year ensuring that the club was successful on a number of fronts. He congratulated and thanked all the athletes- juvenile, seniors and masters - who weekly train and compete successfully all over Ireland and farther afield.


Tír Chonaill club members won a unprecedented number of National Titles during 2011 .He thanked the coaches, the administrators and the the generous and supportive club sponsors. He had a special word of thanks for Cara Pharmacy, the clubs main sponsor. Awards were presented to the following athletes.


Senior Female - Mary McLoone,

Senior Male - Paul Ward

Overall Female - Kate McGowan,

Overall Male - Karl Griffin

Sprints Female - Kelly McGrory

Sprints Male - Christopher O'Loughlin

Jumps Female - Hannah Campbell

Jumps Male - Christopher Doherty

Throws Female - Chloe Masterson

Throws Male - Thomas McGowan

Middle Distance Female - Sarah Timoney,

Middle Distance Male - Daniel Gallagher

Coaches Award Female - Ciara Crawford,

Coaches Award Male - Mark Boyle

Coach of the Year - Eamon Harvey

Club person of the Year - Anne McGowan


Awards were also presented to the nine girls who were part of winning and National Record U15 and 16 relay teams, All Ireland and Ulster medal winners.


Anne McGowan - Club Person of the Year


Chloe Masterson - Female Throws


Christopher Doherty - Male Jumps


Christopher O'Loughlin - Male Sprints


Ciara Crawford - Coaches Choice


Daniel Gallagher - Male Middle Distance


Eamon Harvey - Coach of theYear


Hannah Campbell - Femal Jumps


Karl Griffin - Male Athlete of the year


Kate Mc Gowan - Female Athlete of the Year


Kelly McGrory - Female Sprints


Mark Boyle - Coaches Choice


Relay Medal Winners


Sarah Timoney - Female Middle Distance


Thomas McGowan - Male Throws