Tir Chonaill AC Juvenile Awards 2013

Friday, 22 November 2013


At the clubs juvenile awards night in Pier 1 Donegal Town, on Friday night last, Club Chairman Paul O'Gara highlighted the numerous competitive, organisational and administrative successes of Tir Chonaill A.C. during the past twelve months.

'The club through its many coaches and volunteers assisted and guided hundreds of athletes from eight years to retirement age via weekly schedules that saw members participate, enjoy and have much success in programmes as varied as little athletics, special Olympics, fit4llife, road - from 5k to Marathon, track and field [Indoor and Outdoor] and Cross country. I would like to thank all the coaches for their huge contribution of time and expertise and the numerous athletes on their outstanding achievements during the year. We are also indebted to the very generous sponsorship support we receive from the community'. Paul acknowledged the generous support received from Sean McGuinness, Hardware, Killybegs, Bio Insulation, Laghey; All Sports, Pier1 and Martin and Anne McGowan - sponsors of the club 2013 juvenile awards. The chairman concluded, 'Cara Pharmacies, the clubs main sponsor during the last number of years I wish to acknowledge and thank - your support via the Cara Bundoran 10, which has grown into a well organised and recognised National Event, attracting participants from all over Ireland and abroad, is much appreciated by all members. In conclusion I wish to thank the local media, who have most positive towards all aspects of the club and congratulate all tonight's club award winners .



Athletes that represented the club in Donegal/Ulster in T/F; CC or Indoors
Ellen Canavan; Emma Farren; Diarmuid O’Donnell; Mark McMenamin; Cian Cassidy; Adam Mazin; Aislin Mohan; Kirsty Herron; Sophie Tracey; Derbhal Neil; Abaha Morrow/Hayden; Eve Moore; Lucy McGowan; Aine Ribling; Eile Battle; Katherine Mc Clay; Rory O’Connor; Ethan Mangan; Oisin McManus; Oisin Price; Owen O’Donnell; Cliadhna McManus; Amy Lorenynko; Mia McCalmont; Olivia Grham; Amie O’Brien; Niamh Boyle; Cliodhna McManus; Charlotte Timoney; Kerry O’Loughlan; Aine Ribling;Kate Shovelin; Eve Travers; Kate Smith; Ciara McCarthy;



Athletes that represented the club in All Ireland Competition i.e. Clubs, Schools, Community Games
Lucy McGlynn;

Emer O’Brien;

Mark McGuiness;

Eva McMullan;

Jessica Quinn;

Ciara Crawford

Pic: Paul O'Gara Chairman with Award Winners

Ciara Crawford, Mark McGuiness and Lucy McGlynn



Athletes that won medals at National Level
Emma Brady -Triple Jump;

Hannah Campbell - Pole Vault;

Niamh Mc Grory - Irish Schools 4 x100m

Pic: Paul O'Gara and award winners

Emma Brady, Hannah Campbell,

Niamh McGrory and Anne McGowan (Donegal Hardware)



Coaches Athlete of the Year
Athletes that showed exceptional commitment and club spirit during the year
Orla Coughlan;

Christopher O’Loughlan



Middle Distance Athlete of the Year
Emily McGill;

Daniel Gallagher

Pic: Paul O'Gara and Award Winners

Emily McGill and Daniel Gallagher



Jumps Athlete of the Year
Caolan O’Callaghan;

Katie Hoad



Sprints Athlete of the year
Jack Behan;

Kate McGowan



Throws Athlete of the Year
Mark Campbell;

Clara Herron



Coach of the Year
Peter O’Connor, (coached Special Olympians and Juvenile athletic groups during the year)



Club Person of the Year

Brenda Morris (multi tasked as coach, club registrar and led hospitality at all club events i.e. Cara Bundoran 10, Club April 1st T/F meet and all road races).



Male Athlete of the Year

Karl Griffin (represented Ireland at European Juniors in Barcelona; holds National U18 - 800m record; recently took up an elite Athletics Scholarship at UCD).



Female Athlete of the Year

Kelly McGrory (won numerous National Indoor and Outdoor Sprint titles; Smashed Celtic International 400m U18 record and Co Donegal 400m H record - 64.03secs - during then year).

Pic: Award Winner Kelly Grory

with Club Chariman Paul OGara and

Anne McGowan[Donegal Hardware-Sponsor)